常见问答

1. 检出限 – 如何计算的和是否一致性(稳定性)?

我们的仪器使用由美国 EPA IO-3.3 标准方法《X射线荧光光谱法检测环境颗粒物中重金属》推荐的标准薄膜来进行校准(EPA/625/R-96/010a, Table 2, page 3.3-16)。该仪器是非常稳定的,通常可以等到更换X射线管才需要重新进行校准。在X射线管的寿命内,我们很少见到一个大于±5%的数据变动。当此发生时,不准的金属通常只有一个或两个。只有这些金属需要重新校准,从而降低校准过程的停机时间和劳动。

2. 准确性 – 该仪器能与基于标准过滤器分析相比吗?

目前,Xact 620(环境空气)在世界上三个独立实验室通过用标准参考方法(SRM)来分析它的准确性。然后每个实验室采集的数据被相比。我们对每个仪器进行 Method 301 Dynamic Spiking Protocol 的线性测试。在校准的过程中,我们定量地把已知浓度的气体放入仪器的进口处为的是确定仪器的准确度和精密度。Xact 640 (烟道 CEMS)通过在有害废弃物焚烧炉用301方法(Method 301),发现的一个替代监测 Hg、Pb、Cr、Cd 和 As 的方法赢得了美国 EPA 的认可。这个方法包括确定和记录受影响来源实测浓度质量的步骤,即系统误差(偏倚)和随机误差(准确度)。如果您愿意的话,我们可以提供一篇已出版的与在该 M301 过程中产生的数据有关的文章。

3. 操作 – 操作仪器有多难?

我们的仪器不需要很多设置选择,因此操作简化。如果用户远程访问仪器数据的话,只要亲自更换过滤带、维护仪器和很少的维修。一旦安装了它,每个月必须对 Xact 620 进行流量校准检查、XRF 检测和QA的空白检测。如果仪器采用每小时的采集步骤,更换过滤带和每个月的检测时间总计达 2~3个小时。

4. 多久一次要去现场检查仪器和员工的培训水平应该是多少?

CES 为所有客户提供的培训课程允许合格的技师能够对我们的仪器执行需要操作的基本任务。我们也为具有至少两年经验的技师提供 Xact 安装、校准和维修三个单独培训课程。

5. 有什么消耗材料,多长时间必须更换?

这取决于用户操作的仪器。Xact 640 (烟道多金属 CEMS)的消耗材料比 Xact 620 (环境空气)更多。Xact 620 的消耗材料只有过滤带。每六天后到两个月后必须更换过滤带,但这取决于用户选定的采集时间。

6. 它用多少电力?

为了操作我们的 CEMS 需要6安培125伏交流电60赫兹的电力。

7. 用X射线辐射以前,有什么预防措施吗?

我们所有的仪器的设计有几种安全功能,保证仪器安全操作和符合安全需求。我们出货前对每台仪器进行X射线泄漏测试。

8. 仪器如何处理湿气和热的或非常寒冷的天气?

操作 XRF 系统时,环境条件必须跟办公大楼里一样。我们的仪器通常安装在有过滤空气能力的温度控制遮盖物里。如果客户想偶尔把仪器换个地方,可以采用NEMA 4 或 4X 的外壳。

9. 仪器的价格是多少?安装过程所需什么?

我们需要了解每个客户的应用不同和特定位置的环境才可以建议合适的仪器。请和我们安排一段时间讨论您的具体监测问题,所以我们可以特制最合适的仪器。

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Detection Limits – How are they calculated and how consistent (stable) are they?

Our instruments are calibrated using thin film standards as prescribed in the EPA Compendium Method IO-3.3 for the Determination of Inorganic Compounds in Ambient Air, EPA/625/R-96/010a, Table 2, page 3.3-16. The instruments are extremely stable, normally only requiring recalibration after an X-ray tube has been replaced. We have rarely observed a calibration drift more than +/- 5% within the life time of an X-ray tube. When it has occurred, the calibration was typically only out of range for one or two metals. It is only those metals that required recalibration, which reduces the downtime and labor for recalibration.

2. Accuracy – Has the instrument been compared to standard filter based analysis?

The Xact® 625 (ambient) has been compared by independent laboratories around the world vs. SRM. We do perform a linearity test by following the M301 dynamic spiking protocol. We quantitatively spike ambient air for the purpose of determining accuracy and precision of our calibrations. The Xact® 640 (stack CEMS) has earned EPA acceptance for an alternative method of monitoring Hg, Pb, Cr, Cd and As from a hazardous waste incinerator by method 301. This method includes procedures for determining and documenting the quality, i.e., systematic error (bias) and random error (precision), of the measured concentrations from an effected source. If you would like, I can send a paper we published regarding the data produced during this M301.

3. Operation – How difficult is the instrument to operate?

Our instruments do not have a large number of set-up options, so this simplifies operation. If you were to remotely poll the data you will only need to visit the instrument for tape change, maintenance and infrequent repair. Once installed the Xact® 625i monthly maintenance tasks are a flow calibration check, XRF check and QA blank check. If the instrument is utilizing an hourly sample protocol then the tape change and the monthly checks coincide and collectively consume 2-3 hours.

4. How often does the site have to be visited and by staff with what level of training?

The training course given to all clients allows any competent technician to perform the basic tasks (tape change and monthly maintenance) required to operate any of our instruments. Xact installation, calibration and repair are a separate training session to skilled technicians with at least two years of experience.

5. What consumables are used and how often do they have to be changed?

This depends on what instrument the client is operating. Our Xact® 640 (stack multi-metal CEMS) has more consumables than the Xact® 625i (ambient). The Xact® 625i consumes only filter tape. Depending on your sample period length, tape changes will occur between every six days to 2 months.

6. How much power does it use?

We require 20 amps of 120 VAC/60 Hz conditioned power to operating our CEMS, and 10 amps of 120 VAC/ 60 Hz for the ambient model.

7. Are there any precautions required for X-ray radiation?

It is most likely that your state health board will have maximum x-ray leakage requirements that cannot be exceeded. We can assist you with the approval process if needed. All our instruments are designed with redundant safety features to assure safe operation and meet requirements. We test all the instruments we build for x-ray leakage prior to shipment.

8. How does the instrument handle moisture and hot or very cold weather?

The XRF package requires operating conditions identical to an office building. Our instruments are usually housed in a temperature controlled shelter with filtered air. A standalone instrument platform utilizing NEMA 4 or 4X instrument enclosure is also available if mobility is required.

9. What is the cost of the instrument and what is necessary for installation?

Client applications vary and site specific information is required to correctly suggest the proper instrument to answer their monitoring needs. Please schedule a time with us to discuss your specific monitoring questions, so that we may configure the proper instrument for your application?